Vodka Mint Lemonade

I am so sorry that I am such a blog tease.

WEEKS ago, I posted this picture – taunting you with a drink hiding in the background of my lemon sorbet recipe that I promised I would share with you.

And I failed. Blog fail. It’s funny because teasing is a trick we use in journalism all the time. “Coming up – which of your favorite vegetables could cause cancer…At the top of the hour we’ll bring you the latest on the Casey Anthony trial…etc.”  You know what I’m talking about.

It’s all a teasing game (I even wrote an article about it once) but the key is that if you tease it, you have to dish it.

So better late than never…I present you with Vodka Mint Lemonade…you can go make some and forget all about my little blog fail.

Vodka Mint Lemonade

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz fresh lemon juice
  • 2 oz vodka
  • several sprigs of mint
  • 2 oz club soda
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • extra sugar for rim
How-To:
Start with the hardest task of squeezing your lemons (I say hard because remember when I squeeze all these lemons…hands hurt for days). For 1 oz of lemon juice you’ll need about one lemon.
In a martini shaker, add juice, vodka and sugar. Shake well. Take your martini glass and rub a lemon along the rim, dip in sugar.
Pour your cocktail into the glass and top with club soda and mint.

If you’re like me and the best part of any drink is the sugary rim, you’ll find yourself with half a drink left but a sugarless rim.
This is where you get creative and find ways to put more sugar onto the rim…this might include using your finger…or some other trick that you should probably share with me now.
Again apologizes for the tease but hopefully now that you’re all liquored up on vodka and hyped up on sugar, you’ll forgive me!
Leave a Reply

