Greek Chicken Burgers

Greek food is a weakness of mine. Probably because my dad’s side of the family is from a little town in Greece (actually because of some war, it’s in Turkey now…but that’s just a technicality) and I have been eating incredible Greek food since I was a baby.

From spanikopita to lamb to saganaki, if it’s Greek, I probably love it. But sadly my cooking skills have failed when I try to copy my family’s recipes. But I have found that I can incorporate the flavors of the food I love into things that are simple enough to make.

I can make hamburgers. Simple. You mix some spices with some ground beef, mash into a patty and grill. Ta da! So when I came across a Greek chicken burger recipe I had to try it out. Spinach, feta, oregano and a sad attempt at tzatziki sauce and I have a delicious dinner!

Greek Chicken Burgers
Adapted from Kitchen Parade

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces frozen spinach leaves (defrosted and drained)
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • 2 Tbsp panko or dry bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 pound ground chicken
How-To:
First off defrost your spinach. If you have time set it out in the morning, if not place it in a colander with a paper towel (to prevent little spinach particles from escaping!) and place under hot water. After it’s defrosted you want to make sure to squeeze out ALL of the excess water, otherwise your burgers will be soggy.
In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients. I used my hands – and it was VERY messy. But also kind of fun. Squishy, squishy chicken goo.
Form the chicken goo into five patties. (I was only cooking for myself so I put four of the patties into individual ziplock bags and froze  them. Hello easy dinner for the next week!)
Grill the patties on a grill, grill pan or frying pan. Let sit in the pan for five minutes without touching, flip and cook the other side. If you’re fancy, check their doneness with a thermometer (should be 165F) or if you’re like me, mutilate your burger a little and peek in the middle.
As for serving. I was trying to be healthy so I didn’t put it on a bun. I just topped mine with red onions and served it with cucumbers and my sad attempt at tzatziki sauce.
Ok let’s talk about this sauce. So I really like tzatziki sauce. But the one I made was not so great… The recipe called for 1) a food processor – which I don’t have and 2) tomatoes – which I don’t like.
But I made it anyway. In a blender I combined 1/2 green pepper, 1/4 cucumber, 1 roma tomato, 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, salt and pepper. Well it was disgusting. It was watery and tasted like a took a bite out of a tomato. Gross. So I tossed it in the garbage disposal.
Attempt number 2: I blended the remaining Greek yogurt, cucumber and salt/pepper.  That was MUCH better. No tomato nonsense. Still wasn’t great, but it was decent. Next time, I’ll probably stick with store-bought.
Leave a Reply

