Garlic Cheddar Biscuits

While I really love to cook, I will be the first to admit that I have a long way to go before I can call myself a good cook. I mean I can follow a recipe and usually it turns out looking similar to the picture, but there are always those occasions where I didn’t follow each step perfectly, and they look like sad imitations of the pretty picture.

But the other night I had one of those perfect cooking moments. I came across a recipe for garlic cheddar biscuits (which I LOVE) and they also happened to be low-fat. Win-win! But while I was making them I thought the batter looked a little thick and I burnt the garlic juuuuust a little so I was already a bit deflated. But turns out my biscuits were anything but.

When I opened up the oven to peek at the little guys, my biscuits looked like biscuits! They had risen into cute little biscuit shapes and were perfectly golden. Once I topped them with the parsley-garlic butter, well you would have thought a real cook had made them! Maybe I’m getting better than I thought…

Garlic Cheddar Biscuits
Adapted from  SkinnyTaste

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp butter, melted
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley
2 cups Heart Smart Bisquick
1/2 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese
2/3 cup fat free milk

How-To:
Preheat your oven to 400°. And first things first, mince up your garlic.
And while your mincing away, start melting the butter in a small frying pan. Add half of the garlic to the melted butter and saute on low heat for about a minute. Remove from the heat and add your chopped parsley.
You can let that hang out on the stove for a bit.

In a large bowl, combine Bisquick, cheddar cheese and remaining garlic. Stir in the milk and be careful not to over mix. The batter will be thick and should have some lumps.
Drop tbsp size balls of batter onto a Pam-sprayed cookie sheet.
Bake for 10 minutes. If you’re lucky like me than they will have turned into beautiful biscuits. Or if you’re like me on most other days, well they won’t, but I bet they still taste good!
Drizzle the biscuits with the melted butter, parsley, garlic mixture. Bake for another 5 minutes or until perfectly golden.
                                           {take a big bite!}
And because they’re low-fat, there’s less guilt when you eat 3 (or 4) of them while you wait for the rest of dinner to cook! Yumminess!

Leave a Reply

