Lemon Sorbet

Hello blog friends!! I’m so sorry for my lack of posting. I have been living, breathing sorority recruitment for the past week or so. Basically that means I have been spending my days singing, dancing and conversing till my voice is a thing of the past. But luckily sharing this post with you doesn’t require the voice from my mouth but instead the one that flows from my fingers. To help soothe my sad poor throat I came across this lemon sorbet recipe.

I love love love lemons. Like I eat them like normal people eat orange slices. (Yes I’m well aware this is bad for my teeth). And so when I saw that I could make lemon sorbet without an ice cream maker I jumped on the chance. Now I will admit this would have been quicker and easier with an ice cream maker, but hey a girl’s got to work with what she’s got.

Lemon Mint Sorbet 
Adapted from Kitchenography 

1 cup lemon juice
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
lemon zest

How-To:

So with so few ingredients, you guessed it, this recipe is pretty simple. It just takes a little patience and LOTS of lemons.

First of put a 8 or 9 inch pan in the freezer. For best results use metal but I only had glass on hand. Then it’s time to make your simple syrup. Combine the water and sugar in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.

Then reduce the heat and let it simmer until all the sugar has dissolved. Remove the pan from the heat an allow it to cool. About 15 minutes or so.

In the meantime, start juicing your lemons. Now if you’re cool, and have a juicer, your hands are going to be  a lot happier with you than mine were with me. Look at all those lemons…Yeah, I was about ready to give up until I came up with a little side recipe…see him chilling in the corner… you’ll have to check back soon for that recipe.So back to the lemon sorbet. After you’ve juiced all the lemons in the world (or so it seemed) add the juice, simple syrup and lemon zest to your chilled pan. Pop it in the freezer. The recipe said to check back in an hour to stir but even after three hours mine was still all liquid. It took about 8 hours total. That was a loooong wait.

But well worth it.When it’s frozen, use a fork to scrap it until you’ve got a pan of icy lemon crumbles. Spoon into a chilled bowl as it melts faster than regular ice cream/sorbet. 
I added some fresh mint because really lemon and mint are just perfect for each other. Then I enjoyed a bowl or two (or three…hey it was all to help my throat get better…) Now with a soothed throat I’m off for more singing!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Sorbet

  1. To be honest I’m British so I don;t know what sorority recruitment is… it doesn’t sound that fun, is it? This sorbet looks amazing though, seriously amazing. I really must make it soon.

    • Basically sorority recruitment is when we find new members for our sorority each year. It’s really fun, just a lot of work. But it’s well worth it because these new girls then join our sisterhood! But yes the sorbet is DELICIOUS! So refreshing!

Leave a Reply

