Goat Cheese and Tomato “Pie”

I’m going to be blunt about this. I LOVE goat cheese. You could say I’m obsessed with it. Its creamy texture and sweetness goes well with just about anything. When I was in Paris earlier this summer I was introduced to some of the best goat cheese (excuse me…chevre) that I’ve ever tasted. So when I came across this recipe I knew I had to try it. Even though it contained tomatoes which I generally hate…

Let me segway and explain my tomato-issue. Tomatoes by themselves are repulsive to me. I think their taste taints anything they touch (sandwiches, salads). BUT I don’t mind, and usually like, anything that utilizes a tomato.

Salsa? LOVE. Ketchup? Awesome. Bruschetta? So tasty.

I’ll even allow them in my pastas now and then if they are roasted beyond recognition. So, as long as the tomato taste is hidden by something delicious like garlic or jalapeno, than I am totally fine with the fruit/vegetable (really, what is it??) Ok that’s enough of that…back to this “pie.”

Goat Cheese and Tomato “Pie”
Adapted from Sauce Magazine

Ingredients:

  • Pie crust – I used a frozen Pillsbury pie crust despite the recipe calling for a savory one…no idea what that meant
  • 3 tbsp olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  • 2 fennel bulbs, thinly sliced
  • 6 oz crumbled goat cheese
  •  1 roma tomato, thinly sliced
  • Salt and pepper
How-to:
 Now the beginning of this depends on your pie crust. I just used a frozen, almost ready pie crust. If you use fresh pie crust then see the directions here. Otherwise join in my laziness. Preheat the oven to 400 (check your pie crust instructions) and cook the pie crust for about 7 minutes (again check your specific crust’s directions).
{fun fact? Fennel is also known as Anise…who knew!}
While you’re crust is cooking, start working on the fennel. Now this was my first time using fennel. I knew it was kind of like an onion but wasn’t really sure, so I was pretty surprised at the grocery store when the produce guy pointed to this crazy fuzzy green thing with a bulb on the end. The bulb looked huge so I got one. But if it’s smaller go with two. I had to look up how to go about dissecting the thing. Here’s how. If you know, then cut the fennel into thin slices. Heat up the oil olive and saute the fennel for about 10 minutes, or until carmalized.
Fennel’s really interesting, it has an extremely strong black licorice smell which I’ve heard many times on cooking channels, but I had never actually experienced it. Black licorice is also something I hate (red although, is totally delicious) and so while I was slicing the fennel I was getting really nervous that the pie’s goat cheese would not prevail over two ingredients that make me wince in the taste department. But after cooking the fennel down, it had a much earthier and pleasant aroma.
Layer the fennel on the bottom of the pie crust. Top with the goat cheese and then layer the tomatoes on top. Now if you actually like tomatoes, feel free to do a nice thick layer. I used mine very sparingly but normal people probably wouldn’t. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and drizzle oil olive on top.
Bake for 7 minutes. Serve! Mine sadly crumbled, but it tasted just as good! The tomatoes were roasted and coated in olive oil and the creamy goat cheese with the crunchy fennel were such an incredible combination. A very savory treat. And very informative! I learned about fennel and am one step closer to abolishing my feelings of hate towards tomatoes…baby steps.
{crumbly goodness}
Funny story. My dad used to hate tomatoes too (genetic?). But when he was growing up his mom (my grandma…obviously) used to give him a dollar for every tomato he ate. Eventually he grew to love them! So maybe if someone gave me an incentive like money, than I would start to enjoy them. But let’s be real. There’s a thing called inflation and it would take at least 10 dollars before I took a bite of a plain ole’ tomato. Maybe 20…
{I will admit they are very pretty…}
Leave a Reply

