Crab-less Crab Cakes

Crab cakes are one of those perfect summer meals. They’re light, fresh and downright tasty! I order them pretty frequently when I’m out at restaurants and I have had a recipe taped to my fridge for about two months now to try to make them myself. But it seems like every time I go to the store to buy crab, it’s crazy expensive or they don’t have any. So what do you know but when I picked up the newest Sauce Magazine inside was a recipe for crab-less crab cakes! Now you’re probably thinking, why in the world would you want to eat a crab-less crab cake? Well let me tell you…you will after you try this recipe! The recipe uses zucchini and potatoes to mimic the texture of the crab and their mild flavor allows them to absorb all the seasoning that make up the flavor profile of them crab cake. Ingenious and delicious.

Crab-less Crab Cakes
Recipe from Sauce Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 peeled, coarsely grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup peeled, coarsely grated russet potato
  • Salt
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1  cup bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsley
  • Olive oil for frying
How-to:
First things first, peel your zucchini and potato. I used a small potato and about a half of a very large farm fresh zucchini. Then using a grater, grate those guys into a colander. A colander you ask? Why not a bowl? Well those veggies are filled with water (which is what help makes them so low in fat! Not so much the potato…) Sprinkle salt on the veggies and let them hang out for a half hour, periodically squeezing them with a paper towel. You want to try to get as much water out as possible otherwise your “crab” cakes will be sad and soggy.
  {the “crab”}
In the mean time, finely dice up your red peppers. You will also want to give those peppers a big squeeze with a paper towel before adding them to a big bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine the egg, Old Bay, Dijon, mayonnaise, Worcestershire sauce, parsley and lemon juice. Using a whisk, mix well.
Add the zucchini, potato and bread crumbs to the bowl with the peppers. Then pour the liquid mixture on top. Gently combine. I used my hands. It was really messy, but easier.
Take a small scoop (about 1/4 cup) and roll into a ball. Place on a plate and press lightly into a patty. Repeat until you have eight patties. Heat up the oil over medium-high heat. Dust the patties with flour and add them to the pan in batches. Cook until browned on each side. About 2-3 minutes per side (mine cooked much faster because I think my oil was too hot, so just keep a close eye on them). Remove and place on a paper towel to drain.
You can whip up a tasty remoulade sauce or you can just squeeze some lemon over them. Ta-da! You have a crab cake that taste EXACTLY like one that has crab in it! It really is unbelievable how good these are. They smell like a crab cake and taste like one and the texture is identical. The moment I knew they would be good was when I was squishing it all together with my hands and the smell of crab cakes just smacked me in the noise. I could hardly wait to get them into the oil.
  {Pure summer heaven}
I gobbled them down with an ice cold Schlafly Summer Lager. I figured I was using locally grown vegetables, I might as well drink a locally made beer. That, and well I’m obsessed with Schlafly Summer Lager. It’s such a good beer. And I can only get it in St. Louis, in the summer. Talk about making a girl suffer 9 months out of the year. I wish I was driving back to LA and then I could just fill my trunk with cases of it. But I don’t think Southwest Airlines will appreciate it if I smuggle them into my luggage. Oh well. I will just have to consume as many as possible before I head back! Sounds terrible… 🙂
2 thoughts on “Crab-less Crab Cakes

  1. Oh yum! I really thought there were crabs in it lol. Looks delicious! I love that it’s filed with nothing but veggies! Thanks for sharing! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

