Summer Reading

Do you remember when we were younger and each summer, teachers would hand out the summer reading list? Well while most people dreaded the idea of taking time away from swimming, playing and sleeping in, I loved this list of new books to dive into.

Pure summer bliss

I can easily admit that I am a bookworm. I would 90% of the time rather read than watch a movie or TV. Perhaps I have my dad to blame who made us carry a book with us at all times, whether at a restaurant waiting for a table or sitting in the doctors office, I always had a book under my arm. Unfortunatly during the school year, my schedule is jam packed and when I do find the time to read it generally requires me to read from a textbook (not very interesting for the most part). So once again when summer rolls around I cherish the thought that I will have (almost) endless hours to peruse through my ever growing mental reading list.

This summer I’ve already made my way through a couple of title, Claude & Camille (a touching and beautiful tale of the tormented life of artist Claude Monet), The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. And at the moment I am halfway through Truman Capote’s terrifying and engrossing, In Cold Blood. But once again, time seems to be slipping away from me, and as summer shortens, my list seems to lengthen.

Last week New York Times Magazine released their staff picks for the top five best fiction booksof all time. To my sad surprise I am far from making progress on the great literary works of all time. So I’ve added a couple of those to pick up at the library to my list.

Summer Reading List – No Textbooks Allowed

  • The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath
  • Playing President, by Robert Scheer
  • The Girl who Played with Fire, by Stieg Larsson
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, by Rebecca Skloot
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J.K. Rowling
  • The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov

My ever growing stack of books to read.

There are of course a few books that will wind up falling into my lap, whether from friends or my mom’s recommendations. But as of right now I have quite a comprehensive list to plow through before I head back to school. As for order of importance, there isn’t one really, except for I will probably set aside In Cold Blood for the next few days while I give myself a nice refresher  of my good friend Harry Potter before he battles Voldemort for the last time on the big screen come Thursday (I’ve got my tickets!!). But after that I think I will need something a bit more upbeat after Capote’s detailed account of the horrific murders of the Clutter family.

Summer is the perfect time to grab a book and relax in a hammock (as I did the other day). You can multitask by stimulating your brain and getting a sun-kissed glow in the sun. Happy Reading!
eat.write.love,
Alexis
Leave a Reply

