Rainbow M&M Chocolate Chip Cookies

There’s nothing better than a combination of two delicious things to create one even more amazing thing. So when I found a recipe for these m&m cookies, I decided to add chocolate chips, therefore turning my favorite cookie (chocolate chip) into something even better because it uses my favorite candy. (I mean really, m&m’s are the best. Am I right? Some might say boring but I say simple and perfect.)

So many pretty colors!

The recipe was a little…well specific. The eggs needed to be room temperature and the butter needed to be melted and then cooled. And wait till you see how it suggested to shape the cookie… But what I have learned from my recent cooking adventures is that for best results, it is KEY to follow those tiny details. One detail of this recipe was altered and I paid the price. Again, I’m learning here people, learning with every recipe and every recipe misstep.

Rainbow M&M Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from HowSweetEats 

Ingredients:
2 cups + 2 tbsp enriched all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 sticks of salted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup M&Ms
1/2 cup giant chocolate chips

How-To:

Mix the flour and baking soda in a small bowl and set aside (yes, include those two extra tablespoons…why? Well I have no idea but it says to so do it). Then in a larger mixing bowl mix the sugar and butter. (Make sure it’s cooled, this may force you to just hang out and stare at your mix for a quite a bit of time…you could pass some of that but sneaking m&m’s from the bowl…)


They should look like the photo below.

Side note: This step I feel is the key reason why homemade cookies are so much more superior than store-bought dough. The brown sugar. Brown sugar gives cookies (and more specifically the dough) that really sweet, grainy texture that just melts in your mouth. End side note.

Next add the egg, egg yolk, vanilla and stir until mixed. Slowly add the flour. Mix it all together. 
Fold in the m&m’s and giant chocolate chips (if you must use regular size ones…well I won’t judge you. You could also use mini m&m’s. Those are pretty cute).

OK this is where it gets strange. Form a ball with the dough. For large cookies, 1/4 cup size balls, for smaller ones, 2 tablespoon six balls. Now tear the ball in half (weird I know). And then stack the torn up halves on top on each other on your cookie sheet. Repeat.

{see how they’re little cookie dough stacks? Cute and functional}


Now I was a skeptic too. And I’m not totally sold on the fact that this really changed the cookies tastiness or not, but it did look like a puffier cookie and it did do something about making it softer or something. I don’t understand the “science” behind this cookie tearing method, but just do it and you’ll have happy cookies for a happy stomach.

Bake for 8-12 minutes. This will depend on the size of your cookie. So basically just watch them. Because there’s nothing worse than walking away for a minute to pour another glass of wine and your cookies have browned. So sad. But that didn’t happen this time! (Probably because I kept the wine close to the oven…)

I was making my cookies for the Open House for Annenberg TV News, so I practiced super self-control and only ate two. But everyone LOVED them at the open house so I was happy my cookies went to making other people happy instead of simply making my butt bigger…

Oh right. You want to know what that tiny detail was that I skipped out on? So take note that the recipe called for salted butter. Didn’t have any of that. So I just added salt to my flour, baking soda mixture. Hmmm. Wrong move. Not sure if I simply added to much salt (since I was just guestimating) or if I shouldn’t have added any, but the cookies were definitely a bit on the salty side. Luckily they were crammed full of so many m&m’s and chocolate chips that really no one cared that there was a pinch too much salt.

It’s a learning process people. And one I don’t mind doing homework for.

2 thoughts on “Rainbow M&M Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I am having the best time reading your blog – and it is making me soooo happy. It is so clever and funny – not only are you becoming a great cook – but an even better writer!!! oxoxox “secret admirer”

Leave a Reply

